Juul pays $438.5 million in settlement with dozens of states over marketing to minors

An investigation found that Juul deliberately marketed its products to young people, even though it is illegal to sell e-cigarettes to children.

According to the Secretariat, marketing efforts included free samples, social media campaigns, launch parties, and the use of younger-looking models in advertising campaigns. Texas Attorney General Ken PaxtonThe packaging was easy to hide, and flavors like mango, fruit, and mint were popular with underage users.
Juul is one of the most popular nicotine products used by children and teens. study show.

The current settlement limits Juul’s ability to sell and market, including restrictions on marketing to persons under the age of 35, restrictions on in-store displays, restrictions on online and retail sales, and retail compliance checking protocols.

Juul said the settlement is “an important part of its ongoing efforts to resolve past issues,” according to an emailed statement the company sent to CNN on Tuesday.

“We remain committed to our mission of moving adult smokers away from tobacco, the leading cause of preventable deaths, while combating underage use, and we remain focused on the future.” the statement said.

In 2019, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration criticized the company for its marketing.This includes company representatives confirming that the product “Completely safe.”

Juul previously stopped selling most flavors and deleted its social media accounts.

Then, in June, the FDA ordered Juul to stop selling the product. The court blocked the FDA ban, so the product is still available in the US.

“We believe that the FDA should obtain marketing authorization after a full review of all the science and evidence presented, as required by law, without political intervention. It is aimed at adult smokers across the United States,” said Juul. statement on tuesday.

The $438.5 million settlement is expected to be paid over six to 10 years. States and territories involved in the settlement include Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, and Nevada. It is included. , Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

Source: www.cnn.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.